Tags

, , , , , , ,

My expectations for this book were met and surpassed. I thought it would be another boring classic from a male character I couldn’t relate to. It turned out, that even though I couldn’t relate well to him, he wasn’t so far off that I couldn’t even imagine him. He was realistic, as were most of the characters.

The book follows Pip as he grows up. First he starts visiting a wealthy old lady with an adopted daughter. After that, he works at the forge for a while. Then, he gets a mysterious patron. He doesn’t know who the person paying for him to be a gentleman is and he isn’t allowed to inquire about it. This takes up a good portion of the plot.

As the story line progresses, he finds out who his patrons is. This was a plot twist for me. I thought I knew who it was, but I was way off. After his patron is introduced everything gets complicated. From that point on its lying and hiding and running. Pip really shows how good of a person he can be when things get hard. He may not have been the best to his sister and her husband, but he is very good to the person give him his new life.

The climax wasn’t very clear. There were a few moments I felt could be the high point. Both were very interesting and well written. Both had me reading a little faster to find out what happened.

Overall I found this to be a very well written and interesting read. Charles Dickens did a great job, and though this was not my favorite of his books, I definitely enjoyed it. I am glad I was finally able to pick this book up and read it.

Next up: ‘The Heir’ by Kiera Cass

