Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I remember when the movies came out. I saw the first one in theaters. I did not like it. I tried to read the book later that year, I did not like it. When the last movie came out, I finally watched all the movies with a group of friends. I liked them. I spent time collecting all the books from thrift stores. I had not read them. This past November I decided to read them. I finally finished a few minutes ago. I loved it.

It took me a while, but I have finally read and seen Harry Potter. There are times I wish I had read it sooner so I could have that life changing moment when I finished them. I don’t feel any different. It has not impacted my love of reading. It hasn’t changed my life views. It has changes my thought on the series. I now understand what people mean when they say it defined a generation. It did. I grew up in the Harry Potter generation. I was not actively involved in it, but I understand it. It gave those kids who grew up reading it a new way to see the world. There was this new world that they could be a part of, even if it was only in their minds.

Through out the series, I noticed a few differences between the movies and the books. There were things that didn’t translate well to screen, along with things that had to be cut due to that reason. The difference get more pronounced further into the series. Therefore one medium is not better than the other and both should be utilized for a better understanding.

Harry Potter finds out he is a wizard in the first book. He also learns about his past and his family and the Dark Lord who wants to kill him. In this book he meets said Dark Lord, who is sharing a body with a professor at the school, and defeats him in his first attempt at gaining power. The second book is much the same in the way he defeats the dark lord second attempt on his life. However, in the second book, Voldemort doesn’t actually plan on the attempt happening. Lucius Malfoy is just an idiot. Everyone come out okay, except for the part of Voldemorts’ soul that gets destroyed.

The third book starts with a dark wizard breaking out of Azkaban, the wizarding jail. Everyone thinks this wizard is after Harry, when in fact, he is not. Sirius is after a different wizard, for whose death he was wrongfully accused. The Tri-wizard tournament takes place in the fourth book. Voldemort is gaining his power and is almost back in full form. He just needs something from Harry. Harry, underage at the time, somehow ends up being chosen to compete it the tri-wizard tournament. Almost dies in the process and watches a classmate die instead. Voldemort has a body again.

No one wants to believe that the Dark Lord is rising to power again. Instead in the fifth book, there is a secret order sworn to protect Harry and fight against the Death Eaters, the Dark Lords followers. Sirius, who we found out was Harry’s Godfather, dies in this book. Not the saddest death, but definitely a disappointing moment. The sixth book has another death in it. It happens towards the end. Draco has been told by Voldemort to kill Dumbledore, as punishment for his father being an idiot. There is no doubt that Draco will fail. Snape ends up killing him in a very sad moment for all of us. Finally, the Ministry of Magic admits that the Dark Lord is back.

The seventh book was definitely sadder than the rest. The worst deaths happen in this book. It starts with Harry being transported to a safe house. During that move Hedwig and Mad-Eye Moody don’t make it. George is injured when his eye gets taken off by a curse. Bad ear jokes follow. Harry turns of age and a wedding gets crashed when the Minister of Magic dies and Voldemort takes power. Harry, Hermione, and Ron take off to find the horuxes and defeat the Dark Lord. In this process we face the death of Dobby. Then the war happens. There outcome was expected, Harry lives and Voldemort dies for real. The deaths, however, were not. Fred, Snape, Colin Creevey, Remus, and Tonks were named.

This series was brilliantly plotted out. The timing of everything was just perfect. Nothing happened to fast, and seven books were perfect for the spacing of events. This is a once in a lifetime series that will inspire children for generations to come. It is the perfect coming of age story for everyone. The is no prefect age to read it. I would highly recommend anyone who hasn’t read it, to definitely give it a chance.

