Tags

, , , , , , , ,


If you saw my post this morning, you would know I was tweeting all day while reading this novel. I had fun reading it and I had a nice time chatting with a new friend. I now have a new book to add to my need to read list. I apologize ahead of time if this is a bit jumpy, I am still learning my review skills and am trying to get everything down. I write very much in the stream of consciousness.

The first thing to happen is Scout coming home on a train from New York. She gets picked up at the station by Henry, Hank, and we find out that they have sort of been having a relationship. At the beginning of this novel she considers him her own kind. She thinks highly of him and enjoys his company. Her aunt does not. Henry works for Atticus, who is now 72 and suffering from arthritis. There isn’t much about their relationship though.

We find out quickly that Jem has passed away. He definitely has a smaller role in this second novel. He’s in the flashbacks, but not much more than that. He is remembered well in the flashbacks. Also, it is apparent that the death of her brother affected her. When she goes to town and she passes where it happened, she mentions it almost every time.

Harper writes more about the town and the history of the family. We learn about who settled the land and why it was placed where it was. The Finch family has a big history with land attached to it. We don’t learn much about her parents, but we learn where her family came from and how they affected the town they lived in.

The biggest part of this book is when Scout sees her father in a different light. She realizes that he isn’t the person she thought he was. It takes over half the book, three flashbacks, two conversations with her uncle, and one blow-up argument with her father. Finally she realizes, after it is explained to her, that she had to tear him down in her mind, because she had made her father into a god instead of a normal human being. He never made mistakes and was always right and that made it hard for her to let go, but she had to.

This novel also focuses on the race war going on in the South around that time. Harper Lee does an absolutely amazing job describing and explaining the whole thing, from multiple perspectives. I couldn’t even begin to explain or pretend to completely understand it. You will have to read the book to see what I mean.

This book was amazing. I did not expect anything less. I think this would have been a classic had it been published before and I think it is. I really hope we talk about it in my American Lit class that I am taking this semester. I would suggest this to anyone and everyone. If you enjoyed ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ you will probably love this one just as much. If you tend to read classics, its perfect. It even has a bit of romance in it. There is something here for everyone.

