Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In the month of July I read a total of 10 books. I completed and passed my Goodreads book challenge goal. My goal was 60 books this year and i have completed 64 so far. I did a review for most of these books on this blog, but I will still list all of them with a short synopsis and review here, along with links to the full reviews I wrote. I did not review all of them, some of them really weren’t worth a full review.

First I read ‘Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince’ by J. K. Rowling. I started reading the Harry Potter series back in November, since I had not read them previously. I quite enjoyed this book. It is the 6th book in the series. In this book Harry finds a potion book, which we later find out belonged to Snape, and learns a few new spells. There are a few deaths that had me a bit sad, and a huge turn in the series. Definitely a good book, but I did not give it a review. I wrote a full series review which I will link Here.

Next I read ‘Beauty Queens’ by Libba Bray. I previously read her Gemma Doyle trilogy and loved it, so I thought this book would also be a good read. I was right, but it was so different. It was an amazing novel that takes place on a desert island. A bunch of beauty queens on a plane crash land. Not all of them survive the crash and not all of the are prepared for what happens next. For my full review go here.

After that I read ‘Tesla’ by Mark Lingane. This book was given to me for review. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it, because its a genre I don’t usually read. It turned out to be really good. It was a dystopian novel where electronics took control over the larger portion of our self thinking. Then a lot of explosions, and some bad stuff happens and the world is basic again. But not completely. Its a fun story and easy to read. Check out my better review here.

Next I read ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ by J. k. Rowling. This book. It was so good and I loved most of it. It made me sad, not that it ended, but some of the events. The deaths were the saddest ones and they were quite detailed. I was so sad. I’m so glad I finally read the series, it only took me 9 months to finish. To check out my full series review go here.

After this, I was ready for some shorter books. First I read ‘The Old Man and The Sea’ by Ernest Hemingway. It wasn’t an amazing book, but it wasn’t horrible. It was a good first attempt at Hemingway. I think I will be ready to tackle a bigger book of his sometime soon. For my review check this link.

Still in a short book mood, I decided to read a small play by Shakespeare. I read ‘The Taming of The Shrew.’ I hated it. I am very bad at reading plays by myself. I need them read aloud in a group or done as an actual play to get the understanding I want out of it. Because I didn’t get much out of it, I did not write a review.

Reading an Ebook came next and I picked up ‘P. S. I Still Love You’ by Jenny Han. It was the sequel to ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.’ It takes place almost immediately after the first book ends. It was a cute contemporary and made me so happy. I loved every part of it. To check out my review click on me.

After that I went to the bookstore and saw that ‘Go Set a Watchman’ by Lee Harper had come out. I bought it and read it in full the next day. It is based after ‘To Kill a Mockingbird.’ I live tweeted while I read this book. It was fun, I had a few people favorite my tweets and one person actually tweeted me back. I had a lot of fun reading this book. I did write a review that you can find it there.

The Next two books I read were sent to me for review. The first was ‘Time is Relative for a Knight of Time’ by Brett Matthew Williams. It was the first book in a series and the first book written by this author. It was a mixture of historical fiction and fantasy. The idea was amazing and there was so much that could have been done with it. The Execution of it wasn’t so amazing. It was quite enjoyable and if the author had kept it and edited it a few more times, it would have been perfect. I wrote this review.

The second review book I read was ‘When Water Flows Uphill’ by Beryl Shaw. I enjoyed it more than the first. It was a fun read. It was about a guy who suffers from chronic amnesia. That concept was different from anything I’ve ever read. I enjoyed all of it. There a little bit of romance, but it wasn’t the overlying theme. I didn’t write a full review. It’s not that it wasn’t worth, its just the day I finished it. The day I finished I knew I needed to get the Amazon review up, but I didn’t want to write that at all.

I started 2 other books this month, but I didn’t finish them yet. What books did you read this past month? What books are you hoping to read this upcoming month? I would love to hear about them.a

