Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, recently I did a Read-A-Thon. I had a lot of fun, and I kept track of everything on my blog. One of the challenges was to read a book by an author whose last name started with the same first letter as yours. I enjoyed this challenge, but thought it would have been funner to find an author who shared my last name. Because of that, I ordered quite a few books online. I also went to the book store and got a few there.

The first set of books I got were from Books-A-Million. I picked up three new YA novels.

‘Never, Always, Sometimes’ by Ali Alsaid. This is about 2 best friends who write a list of everything they never want to do in high school. Finally when they get to their senior year, they consider what they may have missed out on. They decide to do everything on the list.

‘Proof of Forever’ by Lexa Hillyer. A group of friends from summer camp promise to always stay friends. Somehow they all drift apart. When the get sent back in time to the summer that changed everything, they find out what drove them apart. Will they drift apart again, or will the try to stay friends this time?

‘Every Last Word’ by Tamera Ireland Stone. A girl with OCD, she’s popular and her friends don’t know. She meets a new girl, who she has to hide from her other friends. When this new friend introduces her to a side of herself that she never knew, she starts to question everything.

Next I order some books off of Thrift Books.

‘Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close’ by Jonathan Safran Foer. This is about a boy whose father dies in the towers on 9/11. The father leaves a key and his son goes on a mission to find out what this key goes to.

‘Sarah’s Key’ by Tatiana De Rosney. Another book set in France about the Holocaust. By that, I mean I just read one last week. This one is about a girl and her family who are taken by the police. It is also about a journalist who is researching this particular event.

‘Goldie’s Lox and the Three Bagels’ by Jeffrey and Lila Dubinsky. Fractured Jewish Fairy Tales. The worst part about this, is that I don’t know if it’s serious or a joke. Look it up on amazon and read the description.

‘We Can’t Go Home Again’ by Max Andrew Dubinsky. This is a collection of short stories. The description on amazon ‘Are any of us beyond forgiveness? A college student’s sexual addiction leads to a family tragedy. A boy must navigate life and love with everything he has ever felt available for all to see on his sleeve. A young man followed by mysterious men in suits returns home for his father’s funeral. A man crosses the country in an attempt to make right his decision in choosing between the life of the woman he loved and the life of his unborn child. And a couple meets during a violent traffic accident, discovering the greatest injuries inflected upon us are not of the flesh, but of the heart. Featuring six different stories, We Can’t Go Home Again follows the lives of seven broken individuals desperately seeking redemption and a second chance.’

I also got 2 books from Amazon.

The first one I got was ‘The Fellowship.’ It’s a biography about the Inklings, a group of professors at Oxford. The group included J. R. R. Tolkien and C. S. Lewis. I am so excited to read this. I love everything by and about J. R. R. Tolkien.

The last one is also a short story collection, ‘An Anthology of Madness’0 by Max Andrew Dubinsky. Again I am going to let Amazon do the work for me. ‘These selected poems, essays, and journals are the raw and unedited works of author Max Andrew Dubinsky documenting his addiction, his homelessness, his loss of faith, his search for God, and his abandonment of the church and religion as he wandered the streets of America after losing his job, his apartment, and his car.’

What books have you gotten recently? Any good suggestions for books I should acquire or read soon?

