Tags

, , , , , , ,

I want to start this by saying I have read all the books, multiple times. I read most of them as they came out and reread them after that. This is the only series I have reread more than once. I loved all of the books, and I still do they. They are amazingly written and they have a story that sticks with a person.

This is the last book in the series. It follows Max and the Flock as they try to save the world again. The story itself was a little predicable in the sense that you know Max is going to succeed. You know it’s going to end in a semi-good way. One thing I didn’t imagine were the deaths. We lose 1 of the flock permanently, and most of the flock for a good portion of the book. Some of the “deaths’ almost made me cry. One of them made me tweet the author that I hate him just a little bit(still no response as of yet). Needless to say I don’t hate him anymore since I finished the book.

This book just made me so happy and so sad all at the same time. It was a great ending to a great series, but it was still the ending. I wasn’t ready for it to end, and I’m still holding out hope for another book.

I don’t like spoilers and I don’t have anything else to say without spoiling the ending, so leave now if you haven’t read this book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~SPOILERS~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One of the previous books in this series focuses on Fang and that he is going to die. Well, he does. He gets his wing ripped off and falls over a cliff, taking a bunch of bad guys with him of course. Nudge and Total are drowned, Nudge also gets stabbed with a spear for good measure. Gazzy blows himself up, it was only a matter of time. Iggy, well they don’t actually say how he dies. Max is looking for Fang and gets found by Angel. Angel is with Dylan, who happens to be a bit of a bad guy in this novel.

But Fang is DEAD!!! Why!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All of the deaths made me so sad, but none as much as Fang. Like I will obsess over him forever. He was my first fictional boyfriend. He was the first male character that I truely fell in love with and when he fell off the cliff, and again when Max watched the video of it happening, I felt my heart just break.

Later in the book when we find out none of them died, except Fang, it made me happier. The fact that Max didn’t lose her whole flock, it just adds a hopeful aspect to everything that’s going on.

And Then, during the final flight with Dr. Hagen-Daaz, Max reveals a secret, she’s pregnant. With Fangs baby. Then she kills the doctor and goes back to the compound and its just sad.

Then Dylan takes her to one of the labs and reveals that Fang didn’t truly die. Dylan managed to get him in stasis, so he could be revived. He leaves the decision up to Max though. Of course she wants Fang, but doesn’t realize until after, Dylan had to die for Fang to live.

Max has her baby. They name her Pheonix. YAY! Happy little family! And after the nuclear winter they all travel south to somewhere in South America.

