Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I read a large number of books this month. I read a total of 20 books this month. I had a read-a-thon at the beginning of this month were I managed 11 books in one week.

The first book I finished this month was ‘Uglies’ by Scott Westerfeld. This such a fun book to read. It is about a dystopian society where everyone gets surgery when they reach 16(18 in some cities) that turns them, not only pretty, but also bubbley headed. I read it previously, and this is the first book I have reread in a long time. I decided to reread it because I couldn’t remember what actually happened in the book(turns out I was way off in my expectations). It was a lot of fun to read and only took me a few days. I wrote a review for that here.

For the BookTube-a-thon I read 11 books, which I wrote a wrap-up for here.

The first book I read for the BookTube-a-thon was ‘The Little Paris Bookshop’ by Nina George. This books was suggested to me by someone on Twitter and I am so glad I decided to read it. It is about a man in Paris who owns a bookshop on a boat and his travels south. Review located here.

Next I read ‘Roverandom’ by J. R. R. Tolkien. It is a short children’s book he wrote for his son. It was a cute read and I cannot wait to read it to my children in the future. I did not write an actual review.

After that I read ‘Tiny Pretty Things’ by Sona Charaitra. This was an amazing book about ballerinas at a conservatory in New York. It is full of drama and was a lot of fun to read. I wrote a full review for this novel.

I finally managed to finish ‘On The Road’ by Jack Kerouac during this time. This is about his road trips that he took in the 1940’s. It is very self involved. I wrote a review for it here. I would suggest reading my review if you want to know my actual thought on this.

I more listened to than read ‘Animal Farm’ by George Orwell. It was short and I think reading it was a mistake. I didn’t really enjoy it as much as I feel I would if I had read it.

Following that, I read ‘All The Light We Cannot See’ by Anthony Doerr. This is an amazing novel based in Nazi occupied France. It follows 2 main characters and what happens to them before, during, and after the war. I loved every part of this book. I wrote a review for that, which you can find here.

After that I decided to make it easy and read a bunch of YA novels. First I read ‘Everything That Makes You’ by Moriah McStay. It was a ‘What if?’ book, where on one side the main character had a huge scar that affected her confidence, and on the other side she didn’t, and I loved it. I wrote a review here.

Next I read ‘The Improbable Theory of Zak and Ana’ by Brian Katcher. This was a cute book about a boy, Zak, being forced to join a quiz team. At the quiz bowl Ana’s little brother runs off to a convention Zak told him about. This forces Ana and Zak to go look for him. I loved reading it and wrote a review for it here.

The next few books I read not have actually reviews. First was ‘Lying Out Loud’ by Kody Keplinger. This one is about a girl who is a compulsive liar and has a lot of family issues. It is a companion novel to ‘The DUFF’ also by Kody Keplinger.

Next was ‘Hyperbole and a Half’ by Allie Brosh. Which is a cute little set of comic-like stories. All of the stories in this book were hilarious.

After that I started ‘The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight’ by Jennifer E. Smith. This takes place on a plane and in England and all in the course of 24 hours. I did not finish this during the read-a-thon, but I did finish it the next day.

After the read-a-thon I decided to start a large book, ‘A Clash of Kings’ by George R. R. Martin. This is the second book of the Song of Fire and Ice series. As of the day I am writing this I have not finished yet.

While reading that book I also read a few others. The first one I finished was an ebook, Payback and a Bottle of Merlot’ by Bria Marche. This about a woman who finds out her husband is cheating on her and decides to get revenge. This is the first book in a series, which I just found out, and I will read them all soon. I wrote a review for this book here.

After that I read ‘We Can’t Go Home Again’ by Max Andrew Dubinsky. This is the first set of short stories I have read. This is also the first book I have read by this author. I will be writing a joint review for this book and another set of short stories by Max, I just have to read the other one first.

I read my first comic book this month. I read ‘Teen Titans: Earth One.’ It was fun to read. I felt it was a little short. There wasn’t a lot in the story. This was a trade, which means it has three or four regular issues wrapped up in one. Even though it was three issues in one, it was still lacking. I think I still like actual novels and big books.

I read the second book in the Like Sister’s series, ‘Insecurities and a Bottle of Merlot’ by Bria Marche. This was a fun addition to the series. It picked up the story right after the first book ends. In this book we got to see the other characters more. This one was supposed to be more about Vic. It was still mostly about Mia and that was a little disappointing. It was still good though.

I also finally got myself to read ‘Maximum Ride Forever’ by James Patterson. This is the last book ever in the Maximum Ride series. It took me a while to finally get around to reading it because I wasn’t sure if I would be able to handle the end. I ended up loving it. I wrote a review for it here.

For my book club this month I read ‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’ by Ransom Riggs. This is about a boy and the stories his grandfather tells him, and his adventures finding out that the stories aren’t made-up. I have been meaning to read this book and I finally had a reason to not put it off any longer. It was the only book of the three group reads that I actually owned, so I had to read it. I am so glad I did. I loved it so much and I wrote a full review for it here.

I also read a few books for review this month. The first was ‘Decay’ by Mark Lingane. It’s the second book in a series. This is also a dystopian novel. I read the first book in July. They were both great and eventually I want to read the other 2 books in the series. I reviewed this one on Amazon and here.

The second book I read for review was ‘The Tears of Olive Trees’ by Abdulkarim Al Makadma. It is an autobiography about him and his family and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. I wrote a review for it here.

I did a lot of reading this month. I managed to finish 20 books. I started 2 that I didn’t finish yet. I read a lot of good books. I enjoyed most of them. All the ones I have reviews for are linked above.

How many books did you read this past month? Were they good books? Do you have any suggestions for me to read?

