Tags

, , , ,

I don’t usually do these, but I actually have a plan for my reading currently. I’m starting to have themes for my months. This way it’ll keep me on some sort of track. This month being October I have reading creepy or scary books. These are only in the order of the stack I placed on my desk.

I didn’t finish ‘A Clash of Kings’ which made me a little sad, I wanted to finish that so I wouldn’t be in the middle of two big books. My big book for this month is ‘Under The Dome’ by Stephan King, which is about a city which is suddenly sealed off by a dome. The dome separates families and harms a few people in the falling. I want to try to read one of his books. I have never read anything by him, but I am trying two of his books this month. I haven’t gotten in yet, but I hope to get ‘Christine’ in the mail in time to read it. This one is about a boy and his car, and the car has a mind of her own.

The next book I want to read is a short one, ‘Asylum’ by Patrick McGrath. This takes place in an asylum. Stells Rapheal is married to a psychiatrist, falls under the spell of one of her husbands patients. The patient was confined due to the ghastly murder of his wife. I am excited to read this one. I think it’ll be an over night, one day marathon, read.

I want to read ‘World War Z’ by Max Brooks. This is written in a series of interviews of people who lived through the event. I saw the movie, but I have been told it is way different, and better. I was also told it was better as an audio book, so I may try to get that to listen as I read.

‘Room’ by Emma Donoghue is about a five-year-old, the room he lives in is his whole world. He was born in the room and has never been out of it. It’s also about his mother, she’s only been in the room for seven years. For her, the room is a prison. This is being made into a movie soon and I don’t know if I want to see it, but I definitely going to read it.

Next up is a YA, ‘The Accident Season’ by Moira Fowley-Doyle. This is about a family and every year, in October, they have an unexplained accident season. Every season the family has a series of unexplained accidents, sometimes ending in death. No one knows why the accident season happens. I think this one will be interesting to read this month.

And a classic, ‘In Cold Blood’ by Truman Capote. This is about a family that was murdered with no apparent motive. This is not super important to finish this month because it also falls in my November topic of classics.

I am hoping to read all of these. They all seem fun and entertaining to read for the month of October. Do you have any plans for the month of October?

Don’t forget to check out my September Wrap-up, it will be up tomorrow.

