Tags

, , , , ,

I just posted an October wrap-up which can be found here.

This month, I will be finishing the books I didn’t finish last month, along with a bunch of other books I planned for this month.

I will continue reading three books I haven’t finished in past months. ‘A Clash of Kings’ by George R. R. Martin and ‘Under The Dome’ by Stephan King are long books that I will not be finishing this month, but I will be reading some of them. I will also be finishing ‘By Reason of Insanity’ by Shane Stevens this month.

Two books that I did not get to last month are ‘Christine’ by Stephan King and ‘In Cold Blood’ by Truman Capote. I will be trying to read this towards the beginning of the month since they are book creepy books. If you want to know more about them, check out the October TBR linked here. I also plan to read ‘Catacomb’ by Madeline Roux, the third book in the ‘Asylum’ trilogy.

My main goal this month, after finishing the above books, is to read and compare ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen and ‘Bridget Jones’s Diary’ by Helen Fielding. I was told that these books were very similar, so I wanted to see for myself just how much they have in common.

The theme for this month is classics. I am starting with ‘The Handmaiden’s Tale’ by Margaret Atwood. This is the second book I will have read by her. I read her newest book in September. This one takes place in a dystopian future where because of a declining birthrate, handmaiden’s are used to produce babies for wealthier families. Offred, our main character, no longer lives with her husband and daughter, but instead with a Commander and his wife. In this society, women are not allowed to read, so the market has signs with pictures instead of words. This was her first book, and is one of her most popular works. I cannot wait to read it. Definitely expect a review of this.

The next book was suggested to me by my best friend Emily. ‘The Bluest Eye’ by Toni Morrison is the winner of the Nobel Prize in literature and an Oprah’s Book Club pick. This is the story of black, eleven-year-old Pecola Breedlove, as she prays for her eyes to turn blue so that she will be loved like the other blonde hair, blue eyed children. This is Toni Morrison’s first novel.

This book was suggested to me by another friend, Ashley, she read it in her YA lit class. ‘The Outsiders’ by S. E. Hinton was the first ever YA novel. It is the story of Ponyboy and his brothers and friends as the fight with a vicious gang of rich kids, until the night someone takes it a little to far.

One of the biggest books on my TBR this month, is not an actual classic, but it is a historical fiction, ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak. This is a very sad story about the Holocaust. We follow Liesal from her brothers grave to her new home and discover how she, not only survives, but refuses to give up, even when faced with the death of every one she holds dear.  I have heard so many great things about this book, I just hope it doesn’t disappoint.

‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ by Truman Capote has been on my list of books I really want to read for a long time now. I have seen the movie, but have been told the book is a lot sadder. This follows Holly Golightly as she lives in New York City.

‘Naked Lunch’ by William S. Burroughs follows William Lee as he travels from the US to Mexico. It is pulled from his own experiences in these place and with drug addiction.

The last classic on my list is ‘Fahrenheit 451’ by Ray Bradbury. This takes place in a dystopian future where it is illegal to own print books. We follow Guy Montag, a fireman, as he destroy’s, not only the books, but also the houses they are hidden in. Until he meets a neighbor, Clarisse, who introduces him to a past when people didn’t live in fear and to a present where ones sees the world through the ideas in books instead of the mindless chatter of television.

The next few books are just books I want to read soon. First is the second and third books in the Mara Dyer trilogy, you can find my review of the first book here. The other book I want to read is the final book in Miss Peregine’s trilogy, you can find my reviews for the first and second books respectively.

Let me know what you plan to read this coming month.

