Tags

, , , , , ,

I did a TBR for this month which you can find here, so you can compare what I said I would read with what I actually read. If you don’t believe what I say here, because I’ll be doing that myself.

The first book I finished was ‘World War Z’ by Max Brooks. I read this in just over 24 hours. I started it late at night and stayed up most of the night. I didn’t finish before I went to sleep that night, but I did finish before I went to sleep the next night. This book is an oral history of the zombie war told through interviews. I listened to it on audiobook while I followed along with the physical book. I think that is the best way to read it, since the audiobook I had was missing parts. I really enjoyed reading and wrote a review for it which can be found here.

The next book I finished, I started in September, was ‘Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. This is the second book in the ‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’ trilogy. It was an excellent addition and I cannot wait to read the third book. My review for it is located here.

I did a buddy read this month in which we read ‘The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer’ by Michelle Hodkins. This is about Mara Dyer and her losing her friends and moving to a different state. It was suspenseful and creepy and I really enjoyed it. I wrote a full review, located here.

I decided to read a smaller book this month, and the one I choose that fit my theme was ‘Asylum’ by Patrick McGrath. This was about a psychologist starting at a new hospital, and his wife getting to close to one of the patients. This was scary at every turn. There was suspense and almost deaths and crazy people. I really enjoyed this book. I wrote a full review.

Next I read ‘Room’ by Emma Donaghue. It was a good story, I just didn’t get much out of the way it was written. It was not an enjoyable style. I wrote a review for it here.

I read one book for review this month, ‘Deacons Wives 12: Divorce and Peace’ by LuziAnna Georgia and  Hattie Bethan-Yaad. It is about a woman of faith and the men in her life. It is also about the trials she goes through. I wrote a full review here.

The last book I finished this month was ‘The Accident Season’ by Moira Fowley-Doyle. This is about a girl and her family and every year they have an accident season. In this book they try to figure out why it happens and how to survive it. I wrote a full review, located here.

I didn’t finish all the books I planned to read this month, but I did get a good read. I finished 7 books and started 2 other. I started ‘Under The Dome’ by Stephan King and ‘By Reason of Insanity’ by Shane Stevens. I probably won’t finish ‘Under The Dome’ any time soon, but I do plan on finishing ‘By Reason of Insanity’ this month. Keep your eyes out for my November TBR which I will be posting later today.

How many books did you read this month?

