This month was an okay month. I started a little slow, since I was trying to read a few big books and none of them were going very fast.

The first book I finished was a poetry collection by Kevin Hollingsworth. ‘Romance with a touch of Love’ was a collection of 12 poems, all having to do with love in some way. I really enjoyed it and wrote a full review located here.

The first book I started during the month, but the second book I finished was ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ by Margaret Atwood. This was just an adventure throughout. I read it as a buddy read and I loved it. My review for it is located here.

Next, I read the second and third books in the Mara Dyer Trilogy, ‘The Evolution of Mara Dyer’ and ‘The Retribution of Mara Dyer’ by Michelle Hodkin. I loved this series to the end. I wrote reviews for both books, located here and here respectively.

I also read two books that I am not sure what to call. They are retellings of Shakespeare, written in a phone text message format. The review for ‘Srsly Hamlet’ and ‘YOLO Juliet’ is located here.

I read one book for review this month. I received an E-ARC from netgalley for ‘The Accidental Engagement’ by Maggie Dallen. This was an adorable romance that mostly takes place in Italy. I wrote a full review, which you can find here.

I decided to read a couple classics this month. I did not write reviews for all of these books. First I read ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ by Truman Capote. This follows Holly Golightly as told by an unnamed narrator. It is exactly like the movie, which stars Audrey Hepburn, but is easier to understand. I definitely recommend both reading the book and watching the movie.

Next I read ‘The Outsiders’ by S. E. Hinton. This one follows Ponyboy and his group of friends. They are Greasers. I wrote a review for this one which can be found here.

After that I read ‘The Bluest Eyes’ by Toni Morrison. This is about Pecola and wish for blue eyes. It’s a bit confusing, but definitely very interesting. It was hard to understand where the story was going at times, but nonetheless, it told a sad story about our nation.

After these, I read ‘5 to 1’ y Holly Bodger. It is an interesting read about a country where boys outnumber girls 5 to 1. It’s a little hard to describe this book. I wrote a full review located here.

In total, I read 11 books this month. How many did you read?

