Tags

, , , , , ,

This is a review for ‘American Housewife’ by Helen Ellis. This book is being published by Doubleday Books and is set to be released on January 12 2016. I received an E-ARC of this book from netgally in exchange for an honest review.

This is a collection of stories about women. They are all told from a females perspective. Some are full length short stories and others are just a page. They were all interesting.

I had really high expectations for this. I read the description and got super excited. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed. Though some of the stories were funny and quite enjoyable, some of them were just weird. I got to the end just thinking ‘What just happened?’

The stories I enjoyed, I actually want to talk about. The first was ‘The Wainscoting War.’ This was a truly messed up story, but it was told through emails. Telling a story in that format can leave out some details, but it made the story more enjoyable. It made you wonder what was happening outside the emails. It was my favorite of the short stories.

‘Southern Lady Code’ was a list of phrases commonly used by Southern ladies to sound more polite than what they actually mean by it. This one was hilarious. It was my favorite part of the entire book.

‘How To Be A Grown-Ass Lady’ was interesting.

‘Take It From Cats’ was an entertaining idea.

I did enjoy a lot of this book, and I would definitely recommend it. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. I think it’s a collection everyone can take something from. It’s relatable to a large audience.

