Tags

, , , , , , ,

I don’t know why it took me so long to pick this book up, but I am so glad I finally did. I read this as a buddy read this month.

In this book we follow Beatrice as she goes through her choosing ceremony and being initiated into her new faction. The city is divided by factions, which are chosen when the person turns 16. Before that they live with their parents in the faction they chose. Beatrice is Abnegation, but will she stay there?

I saw the movie, so parts of this book were obvious to me because of that, but it didn’t ruin it for me. It’s been so long I can’t remember much of the movie anyways. This was such a fun and interesting book to read. I enjoyed the character development and the relationships that are formed. It was easy to read and completely understandable. There wasn’t a lot of confusion on what was happening.

In comparison to how I expected I would enjoy it, it surpassed my expectations. I knew I would enjoy it, but I didn’t think I would love it so much that I would finish it in 2 days. I didn’t think I would get so attached to the characters as fast as I did. I definitely didn’t expect I would feel so sad when it ended.

I would definitely suggest this book if you haven’t read it yet. It was so fascinating to get into a character from a dystopian world like this one. I really enjoyed this book. It was meant to be the start of a dystopian series and it did what it set out to do. It was a great start to what I hope will be a great trilogy.

 

~~~~~~~SPOILER ALERT~~~~~~~

When we get into Dauntless headquarters, I knew it was going to be a little different from the movie. The technology was way different. It seemed like they almost didn’t have any, until you get to the simulations. In the movie the initiates are ranked on a touch screen that seems to do the ranking by itself, in the book its written on a chalk board.

The relationship between Four and Tris was a little bothersome. It only bothered me because I always hear people complain about power abuse and there could be some of that in here. I don’t think that’s what it was though. Four seemed to really like her, he even admitted his lack of experience and let her see his fear simulation. I like the romance between the two of them. It is annoying at first how he is so back and forth the whole time she’s in training, but it is understandable.

The friendships in here made me a little sad. They all seemed to end, and not in good ways. We don’t know if Christina or Uriah are still alive, but Al and Will are both dead. The way Al went made me really sad. First, he turned on one of his only friends and then, he jumped into the Chasm.

