Tags

, , , , , , ,

This book was such an interesting adventure for me. I heard about it on BookTube, but I cannot seem to find the person who was talking about it. Either way, the biggest reason I actually picked it up was because of how pretty the covers are. They’re just simple and shiny.

This story takes place on Eden, an alien, sunless planet. The people living on this planet are human beings. They are there because a long time ago 5 people from Earth decided to go exploring. They took off and landing on this mysterious planet. 3 of them went back, while Angela and Tommy decided to stay. They had children and waited for Earth to come back for them. A few generations laters, there are now 532 members of Family.
John Redlantern is about to break the laws of Eden and shatter Family. We follow him as he ventures into Snowy Dark.

John Redlantern was a bit annoying. He had to act like a know-it-all most of the time. He couldn’t admit being wrong and he wouldn’t stop trying to change things. Even after he got what he wanted, we still wasn’t happy.

The leaders of Family were also a bit annoying. They would not accept change. They were insistent upon Earth coming back. There was no character development among them.

This story had me feeling two ways for a while. It was hard to get into the way they talk, because it is a bit different than the way we talk, but the story was so captivating that I didn’t want to put it down. We get multiple perspectives in this, and it changes all the time with who they are. I really enjoyed that aspect.

I definitely enjoyed reading this. I did only rate it a 4 out of 5 stars on GoodReads, because there was just something missing that I couldn’t give it the full 5 stars. i would recommend this to anyone looking for a new fantasy story to read. It is the 1st in a trilogy, which I will be finishing. I will probably start the next book in March.

Let me know if you have read this or you are considering checking out the series.

~~~~~~~~~~SPOILER ALERT~~~~~~~~~

After John does the kind of stupid thing by throwing the rocks from Circle into the stream, this story gets so interesting. After they kick him out and some of the Newhairs go to join him. I did not expect that. I knew Tina and Gerry would, but the rest, not so much. When they finally went into Snowy Dark, I was nervous for them. I knew they would survive, what else would the next book be about, but I didn’t realize the chain of events they set off. It was interesting to see how everything happened after that though.

The Landing Veekle didn’t make it! Once they started describing the metal, I just knew that was what it had to be. I was a little heart broken about that though. Even though it’s clear through the story they aren’t going to Earth, it would have been interesting to see how they would have adapted to life on Earth.

