Tags

, , , , , ,

I received an E-ARC of this book through NetGalley. It was published on February 23rd, 2016 by Harlequin.

This is the story of a group of friends as they navigate a very tough year. Gabby, mother of twins, step-mother, and wife. She stayed home while the girls were young, but now that they are starting school she wants to go back to work.

Nicole, recently divorced, mother of a six year old boy. Her ex-husband has been spending less and less time with his son. To the point that his son doesn’t miss him anymore.

Hayley has been trying for years to have a child. She was adopted and wants a biological connection. Her and her husband have some disagreements on this subject.

We follow these women as they face challenges they never imagined and make choices they will have to live with forever. It’s a challenging year to say the least and all we can do is hope for the best.

I really enjoyed the stories. Each woman was unique and their stories were realistic. Some of their issues upset me more than others, but they were all just as valid. I really appreciate the way Susan Mallery created each character and the way they all interacted. It was definitely a realistic approach to friendships and dealing with the harder parts of life.

I enjoyed Gabby’s story the most. I found it interesting and dynamic. The issue changed constantly. They all had to do with each other, but the focus changed a lot. The resolution was peaceful and very satisfying.

Nicole’s story was ok. I couldn’t relate to much of it at all, but I am sure there are a lot of women who can.

Hayley’s story upset me the most. Her inner struggles were just awful to read about. The outer struggle just as much, but easier to deal with. I felt so much for her the entire time. Her story is one I’ve heard before, but that doesn’t ever make it less heartbreaking. The resolution to hers was my favorite though.

Over all, this was a great story. It was well written and interesting to read. Susan Mallery did an absolutely fantastic job of making this one I will remember for a while. I would definitely suggest this to anyone in need of some friend love.

