Tags

, , , , , ,

I received a copy of this through NetGalley. This book was published on March 1st, 2016 by Sourcebooks Fire.

In this book we follow Jaycee as she visits places her brother wrote about in his journal. She goes looking for signs of him. He died the day of graduation. She ends up being joined by her ex-bestfriend, a poet, a slacker, and Mik. Mik was her brothers friend.

I didn’t remember what this book was about when I started reading and that made it fun. I didn’t know what to expect, but I enjoyed it. It was hard to read in spots, because the characters were being so frustrating. At the same time, it was so interesting and I never wanted to put it down. All of the characters in this book go through a good bit of growth. It definitely helps with what is happening.

Jaycee was a frustrating character at times, but she goes through a lot of growth. She wouldn’t let go of her brothers death for the longest time, and when she finally did, it was so refreshing. Jaycee was such a great character when she started growing. It was nice to see the way her relationships formed and changed with all the other characters.

Natalie was Jaycee’s best friend when they were children. They fell out right after Jake’s death. She was an annoying character for the most part, and until she grows, she’s almost unbearable. She was dating Zach, who is a child in an adult body. He doesn’t want to grow up.

Mik was my favorite character. He was mysterious, but not on purpose. He wouldn’t talk. He did a little bit to Natalie, but it took forever before he could talk to Jaycee. It was so fun to read though. When we read from his perspective it was just a short comic strip. We got to see what was happening instead of reading about it.

Bishop was my least favorite. He didn’t really change much in the story.

I really enjoyed this book. I wish there was more to this story. The characters had me intrigued and I don’t want to let them go. The plot was nicely spaced and it was different from anything I have read previously. I would definitely suggest this to anyone looking for a good YA contemporary with a sad streak. It had some tropes and expected moments, but it was still a read.

~~~~~~~~~~~SPOILER ALERT~~~~~~~~~

I really enjoyed watching Natalie much Mik and Jaycee together. It was cute to watch them get more comfortable with each other and then have Jaycee retreat. I liked the moment in the hotel room where she is daring him to touch her more by putting her hand on his waist and then slowly moving it. When they got so close to kissing and then everyone woke up to the alarm. Then when they finally kissed at the amusement park and made the porch collapse. That made me laugh.

I was really glad she found a way to move past her brothers death. It wasn’t stupid or cliche, it seemed more natural than most books are able to make it. It was a human reaction to everything and I really appreciated that.

