Tags

, , , , , ,

I decided to read this book again because I went to see ‘Tuck Everlasting: The Musical.’ I wanted to be prepared and remember what was going on. I read this when I was in elementary school and I really enjoyed it. I also loved rereading it.

This is the story of Winnie Foster when she decides to run away and meets this family that lives in the woods. First she meets Jesse and finds out about the spring. Then, she is taken to the Tucks’ house in the woods, where she learns more about them and the spring. The spring gives eternal life.

This takes place over the course of a few days and is quite a cute short story. Winnie is just ten when she decides to run away. The Tucks are very kind people and are extremely careful and nervous with Winnie. They don’t mean her any harm and it is very evident when reading.

There is a bit of instalove with Jesse, but it is mostly understandable. I think it has a lot to do with her understanding of his love of life. He wants to enjoy the time he’s been given, and she gets that. Since he lives a very private and mobile life, he also doesn’t have a lot of chances to meet females. He wasn’t creepy about it. He just wanted her to think about joining him in the future, which is funny because he has only known her for a day before this and they have very few conversations in the story. It did not bother me, but I did want to point it out.

Overall I loved this story. It is a cute and quick read. The characters are decently developed. The plot is interesting and paced very nicely. There is a small conflict, but it doesn’t take over the story. I would definitely suggest this if anyone is looking for a short read.

