Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Dear Fellow Hermit,

My name is Oliver, but most people who meet me end up calling me Ollie. I guess you don’t really have to, though, because odds are you’ll never meet me.

I can never travel to wherever you are, because a huge part of what makes me a hermit is the fact that I’m deathly allergic to electricity. This is kind of massively incapacitating, but hey- everyone has problems, right?

~ Ollie

Oliver:

Firstly, my father has confirmed that your penmanship is atrocious. At least you can spell.

Secondly, you are correct. We will not be meeting. This has little to do with your deafening personality. I am electric. Exposure to me would floor you.

~ Mortiz

This is an interesting story about two boys who live in different countries, who correspond by letter. Oliver lives in a cabin in the forest with his mother. He has a sensitivity to electricity. He can never meet his pen pal Moritz. Moritz lives in Germany with his guardian. He is not blind, he has never been blind. He was born without eyes. Mortiz also has a pacemaker.

This story is told in letters between the boys, so we find out everything as the characters do. The letters don’t sound like they were written by the same person. Leah did a great job with giving each boy his own voice. Ollie has a very happy sound for most of the story, while Mortiz is more factual, with a slight negativity. Both boys go through a major change during the course of this story.

I did see the big reveal coming. It wasn’t super obvious, but it was pretty clear if you took any time to think about it. I’m not sure how I feel about the ending though. I kind of liked how everything was neatly wrapped up, but at the same time it was a little squeaky. A little unbelievable.

I still really liked the story. The characters were well thought out and semi-complex. There weren’t any plot holes that I noticed. I enjoyed how the writing style changed between the two characters. I would definitely suggest this book to anyone who enjoys YA contemporary. It has a slightly different cast and story line, but is still just as well done and fun to read.

