“We speak of a mother’s love, but we forget her power.”
Civilization has come to the alien, sunless planet its inhabitants call Eden.

Just a few generations ago, the planet’s five hundred inhabitants huddled together in the light and warmth of the Forest’s lantern trees, afraid to venture out into the cold darkness around them.

Now, humanity has spread across Eden, and two kingdoms have emerged. Both are sustained by violence and dominated by men – and both claim to be the favored children of Gela, the woman who came to Eden long ago on a boat that could cross the stars, and became the mother of them all.
When young Starlight Brooking meets a handsome and powerful man from across Worldpool, she believes he will offer an outlet for her ambition and energy. But she has no inkling that she will become a stand-in for Gela herself, and wear Gela’s fabled ring on her own finger—or that in this role, powerful and powerless all at once, she will try to change the course of Eden’s history.’

The first two books in this series are a bit remarkable to me. I love how Chris has made a world truly unique to anything I’ve ever read. The world is so detailed and vast. We learn about the layout of the land and the plants, even the animals. Some of the animals are similar to ones we have on Earth, but they are still so interesting. I love the lantern trees and the different colors they have. I like the names of the animals, like slinkers. It’s just all so amazing to me.

I really enjoy the fact that women on this planet don’t feel bad about the want to slip. In our society, people look down on sexually active women, there they don’t. I absolutely love that. Starlight has absolutely no shame in wanted Greenstone like that.

The storyteller voices aren’t very different. They have slight nuances that make them unique, but overall, if it hadn’t been for the names as chapter titles, I would not have known who was talking.

I almost wish the dialogue had been written in the different dialects. They mention the different ways people talk, and even make fun of it, but it isn’t noticeable or even memorable. I think it would have given something extra to go with the distances between the clans.

This one was much different from ‘Dark Eden’ in the sense of what the family was doing and what the major players were trying to accomplish. In ‘Dark Eden,’ John wants to spread out, everyone else wants to stay put. In ‘Mother of Eden,’ Starlight wants to explore, Greenstone wants to lead, Chief Dixon wants to rule, and thats not even half of the major players in the world at this time. It’s also a much more dangerous game. We have characters getting ready for war.

I like the ending. I was expecting Starlight and Greenstone to succeed in winning over New Earth. When it was obvious that they weren’t going to, I was expecting them to die. I did not expect Starlight to get away and start over in a new place. I’m glad thats what happened though. It was a satisfying ending.

