I have also done a video talking about this author profile, with more details on the books.

Emily Giffin is the author of 8 books that all fall into the category of ‘chick-lit,’ at least that’s where I place them. The books are ‘Something Borrowed,’ ‘Something Blue,’ ‘Baby Proof,’ ‘Love the One You’re With,’ ‘Heart of the Matter,’ ‘Where We Belong,’ ‘The One & Only,’ and ‘First Comes Love.’ A Chicago Native, she went to school at Wake Forest University and the University of Virginia School of Law. She went on to practice litigation at a firm in Manhattan. After becoming a published author, she vowed never to practice law again. She lives in Atlanta with her husband and three children.

Emily has a writing style that I cannot say enough about. There is something about it that makes me want to continue reading, even when the story annoys me. It’s not really simple, it just has a nice flow. It is so easy to get swept away with her characters and their lives. The characters are believable, none of them are perfect. We get to see their flaws, but you can’t help rooting for them anyway. Her books get better as they go along, getting more and more addicting.

I have started all of her books. I finished 6 of them and did not finish 2. She has a writing style that makes it hard to stop reading. Her stories are convincing and easy to fall in love with. The characters in some of these books are people I would love to know. Some of her stories are just a bit uncomfortable to me. Of the 2 I did not finish, one is about cheating and the other is a relationship between a young woman and her best friends father. These bothered me for very different reasons. In regards to ‘Heart of the Matter,’ I don’t enjoy reading about cheating to begin with, but the obvious nature of the plot progression made it a little worse. ‘The One & Only’ just made me feel a little uncomfortable. Neither book was poorly written and I wanted to keep reading, if only for the way Emily writes characters and stories, but the discomfort was a little to much.

My favorite book is ‘Where We Belong.’ I have a full review, linked above, about why I enjoyed this so much. It’s not a love story and that’s probably my favorite part. There is a love story, but it is so much more than that. The other relationships take precedence over any romantic ones. This is also the only one with a teenage point of view character.

I would definitely suggest this author. The stories are so much fun to read and the characters are interesting. The plots are well planned and realistic. The main characters are flawed and dynamic. Some of the side characters fall a little flat, but not often.

 

***I will also place a disclaimer, it has been a while since I read the ‘Something Borrowed’ and ‘Something Blue’ duology, so my thoughts may have changed since then. Also, those reviews may not have been very well written. I have been slowly improving my reviews since.

