Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Starting in the month of May I will be hosting a four month read-along of ‘The Hobbit’ and ‘The Lord of the Rings’ by J. R. R. Tolkien. I have a video on my Youtube explaining the reasoning behind this, but this post may be more informative and easier to understand.

The purpose of this is to start a yearly read-along of the books, starting in May and ending in August. In the month of September I plan to dedicate all videos and blog posts to things related to these books, in honor of Frodo and Bilbos birthday, which falls on September 22nd in our calendar. Because of this month dedication, I will also be dedicating the month of January to Tolkien’s other works, since his birthday is January 3rd.

For the month of May, along with ‘The Hobbit,’ I will be reading ‘Exploring J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit‘ by Corey Olsen and ‘There and Back Again: J. R. R. Tolkien and the Origins of The Hobbit’ by Mark Atherton. I am reading these to give myself more insight into what I’m reading and so that I have more thoughts to share, hopefully well thought out thoughts.

The dates for the read-along are as follows:

‘The Hobbit’
Reading Date: May
Discussion Post and Video will be posted on June 1

‘The Fellowship of the Ring’
Reading Date: June
Discussion Post and Video will be posted on July 3

‘The Two Towers’
Reading Date: July
Discussion Post and Video will be posted on August 2

‘The Return of the King’
Reading Date: August
Discussion Post and Video will be posted on September 4

I hope you will join me in this.

