Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Goodreads Page

This had a lot of potential to be completely heartbreaking, but it just didn’t hit me. I enjoyed reading the story and I love the way it was written. The style of story telling was absolutely perfect for the story Keyes was trying to tell. Charlie was a character that is really hard to relate to, everywhere along the process he was too distant. Starting with the fact that I am female and Charlie was a male, I’ve also never gone through the sort of separation from society that he faces. Charlie, both when he realizes it and prior, has very few people who truly accept him. He has issues with his family, co-workers, and even with the people conducting the experiment. This causes him to spend a lot of time inside his own head, both remembering and understanding the past, but also in the present.

Overall, it is a touching story and there are a lot of hard moments. I enjoyed the experience.

